Laynie Hasan.

← All offer guides

Home & Storage Comparisons · Reviewed October 12, 2026

COSCO 11308PBL1E vs Rubbermaid RMA-2: Which Two-Step Stool?

Both are folding two-step household stools with hand support and a published reach near eight feet. COSCO uses a steel frame with molded resin steps; Rubbermaid uses aluminum, weighs less and carries a higher published load rating.

Best for

Households choosing a folding two-step stool for shelves, closets and routine tasks after confirming the required load rating and safe reach.

Probably not for

Children, users outside the published load limit, jobs requiring a taller ladder, or anyone treating reach height as permission to stand above the labeled step.

Specifications at a glance

Manufacturer specifications for the exact versions compared
DetailCOSCO 11308PBL1ERubbermaid RMA-2
Frame / main materialSteel frame with polypropylene resin stepsAluminum
Published load rating200 lbType II, 225 lb
Product weight9 lb5.5 lb
Published reach8 ft 2 in under stated user assumptions8 ft
Top platformLarge ribbed molded step; dimensions not stated14 x 12.8 in; 19 in platform height
Folded dimensionsFolds flat; dimensions not stated40.4 x 18.6 x 3.5 in
Floor contactNon-marring leg tipsOfficial page lists ANSI A14.11 / OSHA certifications
Exact model11308PBL1E, platinum/blackRMA-2

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

COSCO Two-Step Big Step Folding Step Stool (11308PBL1E)

A nine-pound residential step stool with steel frame, two ribbed molded polypropylene steps, continuous rear-leg support, rubber handgrip and a 200-pound published capacity.

Pros

  • Steel frame and continuous rear-leg support define a clear construction approach
  • Two large ribbed steps and rubber handgrip are documented
  • Ten-year limited warranty is published for the exact model

Cons

  • Published capacity is 25 pounds lower than the Rubbermaid rating
  • Three and a half pounds heavier by manufacturer figures
  • Current page does not publish folded dimensions or top-step dimensions

Who it’s for: Choose it for the steel-frame design, resin tread surfaces and stated ten-year limited warranty. Skip it if the required load exceeds 200 pounds or lower carry weight is the priority.

Check COSCO Two-Step Big Step Folding Step Stool (11308PBL1E) on Amazon

Rubbermaid Two-Step Aluminum Stool (RMA-2)

A 5.5-pound aluminum two-step stool with a 225-pound Type II rating, 14-by-12.8-inch top platform, 19-inch platform height and 3.5-inch folded depth.

Pros

  • Lower published weight supports room-to-room carrying
  • Higher 225-pound Type II load rating
  • Exact platform and folded dimensions make fit planning easier

Cons

  • Aluminum construction may not suit someone specifically seeking steel
  • Official page does not publish the longer warranty listed for COSCO
  • Eight-foot reach figure is not accompanied by the same user assumption as COSCO

Who it’s for: Choose it for lighter carrying, a higher published load rating and precise storage dimensions. Skip it if the preferred construction is a steel frame with molded resin steps.

Check Rubbermaid Two-Step Aluminum Stool (RMA-2) on Amazon

Start with the load rating, not the brand name

COSCO rates 11308PBL1E for 200 pounds. Tricam rates Rubbermaid RMA-2 as Type II for 225 pounds. The relevant load includes the user plus clothing, tools and anything carried. A person near the limit should not ignore a paint can, appliance or box simply because it is held above the platform.

A higher number does not make a stool suitable for every task. Read the labels, inspect the frame and locking mechanism, open the stool fully and place it on a firm level surface. Do not use either product when damaged or when the job requires a taller ladder. Manufacturer ratings are safety limits, not comparative stability measurements from this site.

Steel and aluminum change the carrying tradeoff

COSCO uses a steel frame with injection-molded polypropylene resin steps and publishes a nine-pound product weight. Rubbermaid uses aluminum and publishes 5.5 pounds. The 3.5-pound difference can matter when a stool moves between a pantry, closet and garage or must be lifted onto a storage hook.

Material names alone do not establish durability, flex or corrosion life. Joint design, storage conditions and use affect those outcomes, and this guide did not perform a long-term test. Choose based on the documented weight, capacity and construction preference rather than assuming every steel item is stronger or every aluminum item is less stable.

Platform information is more complete for Rubbermaid

Rubbermaid publishes a top platform measuring 14 by 12.8 inches and a platform height of 19 inches. Those measurements help a buyer picture foot placement and estimate the cabinet space needed while the stool is open. They do not change the rule to stand only where the product labeling permits and maintain safe contact.

COSCO describes large, heavy-duty molded steps with ribbed slip-resistant treads but does not publish a comparable top-step size on its current page. It also includes a rubber handgrip and continuous rear-leg support. Those are documented design elements, not permission to lean sideways or use the handgrip as an anchor for lifting loads.

Reach figures are labels, not a two-inch contest

COSCO publishes an 8-foot-2-inch maximum reach and explains that the figure assumes a 5-foot-6-inch person with a 12-inch vertical reach. Rubbermaid publishes an 8-foot reach but does not show the same calculation on the current RMA-2 page. Because the assumptions are not presented identically, the two-inch label difference should not be treated as a performance advantage.

Measure the actual shelf and the user's comfortable reach while keeping the body centered. If the task still requires stretching, climbing above the permitted step or placing the stool on another object, choose a correctly sized ladder instead. Reach varies by person, task and safe hand position; it is not a guarantee that every user can access an eight-foot point.

Storage data favors an exact-fit check

Rubbermaid publishes folded dimensions of 40.4 by 18.6 by 3.5 inches. That narrow depth can work behind a door or beside shelving if the height and width also fit. Measure the entire storage opening, including trim, baseboards and hooks, and keep the folded stool where it cannot fall into a walkway.

COSCO says the model folds flat but does not give folded dimensions on the current product page. Its published nine-pound weight and large steps are known, but a tight closet needs a current measurement from the manufacturer or seller before purchase. Do not substitute the dimensions of another COSCO two-step model merely because the photos look similar.

Store either stool closed and secured so children cannot open it without supervision and so the frame cannot slide into a doorway. Keep it dry and inspect feet, hinges and labels before the next use. Compact storage is helpful only when the stool remains accessible to the intended adult without becoming a trip hazard.

Choose the safer fit for the actual user and task

Choose COSCO 11308PBL1E for its steel frame, molded resin steps, continuous rear support, rubber handgrip and published ten-year limited warranty. Choose Rubbermaid RMA-2 for a 5.5-pound aluminum body, 225-pound Type II rating and exact folded and platform dimensions. Use neither beyond its label or as a chair, work platform or substitute for a taller ladder.

The verified Amazon ASINs are B004DSAMEO for the platinum/black COSCO and B01B9K23B8 for Rubbermaid RMA-2. Confirm the exact model because three-step and other project-tray variants appear nearby. No slip, stability, fatigue or load test was performed. The comparison is based on current manufacturer documentation reviewed October 12, 2026.

Official sources and further reading

Sources reviewed on October 12, 2026. Prices, availability and terms can change; recheck before buying.

Commission disclaimer

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy or sign up through one of them, I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. That commission does not change the price you pay or the criteria used in this guide. Product details, prices, availability, and terms can change, so confirm the current information on the linked page before buying.