Laynie Hasan.

← All offer guides

Workshop Tool Comparisons · Reviewed October 22, 2026

DEWALT DWHT83139 vs IRWIN 1964717: Which 6-Inch Trigger Clamp?

Both are six-inch, one-handed medium-duty clamps. DEWALT documents a 100-pound rating, 2-7/16-inch throat and spreader conversion; IRWIN publishes up to 300 pounds of sustained clamping force and a lifetime limited warranty.

Best for

Woodworkers, installers and DIY users choosing a compact one-handed bar clamp for holding assemblies, jigs, stops or workpieces within a six-inch jaw opening.

Probably not for

Lifting, overhead suspension, structural restraint, welding grounds, safety-critical holding, exact pressure application, or work exceeding the clamp manufacturers capacity and use instructions.

Specifications at a glance

Manufacturer specifications for the exact versions compared
DetailDEWALT DWHT83139IRWIN 1964717
Exact modelDWHT831391964717
Opening6 in / 150 mm6 in
Published clamping force100 lbUp to 300 lb sustained
Throat depth2-7/16 inNot stated on current product page
BarHeat-treated steel I-beamI-beam to reduce flexing and bowing
Body and padsReinforced nylon body; removable jaw padsGrip and jaw details shown; materials not specified on cited page
Spreader conversionQuick-change button documentedNot stated on current product page
Warranty1-year limited warrantyLifetime limited warranty

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

DEWALT DWHT83139 6-Inch Medium Trigger Clamp

A six-inch one-handed clamp with 100-pound published force, 2-7/16-inch throat, heat-treated steel I-beam bar, reinforced nylon body, removable pads and quick-change spreader conversion.

Pros

  • Throat depth is clearly published for clearance planning
  • Quick-change button converts the jaw to spreading use
  • Removable jaw pads and body materials are documented

Cons

  • Lower published force rating than the IRWIN model
  • One-year warranty is shorter than IRWIN coverage
  • Removable pads can be misplaced when taken off

Who it’s for: Choose DWHT83139 when known throat depth, removable pads and documented spreader conversion matter more than maximum force. Skip it if the project calls for a higher rated compact clamp.

Check DEWALT DWHT83139 6-Inch Medium Trigger Clamp on Amazon

IRWIN 1964717 QUICK-GRIP 6-Inch Medium-Duty Clamp

A six-inch one-handed medium-duty QUICK-GRIP with up to 300 pounds of sustained clamping force, an I-beam bar, revised grip, Quick-Release trigger and lifetime limited warranty.

Pros

  • Higher published clamping-force rating at up to 300 pounds
  • I-beam bar is designed to reduce flexing and bowing
  • Lifetime limited warranty exceeds the DEWALT term

Cons

  • Current maker page does not publish throat depth
  • Current page does not document spreader conversion for this exact model
  • Higher rated force can damage delicate work when overapplied

Who it’s for: Choose 1964717 when its higher published sustained-force rating and longer warranty match the work. Skip it when a documented throat dimension or manufacturer-confirmed spreader conversion is required before purchase.

Check IRWIN 1964717 QUICK-GRIP 6-Inch Medium-Duty Clamp on Amazon

Force rating is not a command to squeeze harder

DEWALT publishes 100 pounds of clamping force for DWHT83139. IRWIN says 1964717 distributes up to 300 pounds of sustained force. Those maker ratings establish different capacity classes, but they are not evidence that every joint benefits from the IRWIN maximum. Soft wood, hollow trim, finished panels and thin jigs can dent, bow or move long before the clamp reaches its limit.

Apply only enough pressure to seat the work and meet the adhesive or assembly instructions. Watch the joint line, use cauls to spread load and alternate pressure across multiple clamps. A trigger handle does not measure the actual force delivered, so neither model replaces a calibrated fixture where a process specifies pressure. More rated force is useful only when the work, setup and contact surfaces can accept it safely.

Opening and throat answer different fit questions

Both exact models provide a six-inch nominal opening. That dimension describes the distance between jaws, not how far the pads reach from the edge. DEWALT publishes a 2-7/16-inch throat depth. IRWIN does not state a throat measurement on the current cited product page, so it would be misleading to infer equality from photos or retailer copy. Measure both the work thickness and distance from edge to clamp point.

A six-inch clamp can hold a narrower assembly yet still fail to reach an interior glue line. In that case, a deeper-reach clamp, parallel-jaw clamp or different caul arrangement may be needed. Leave space for the handle to cycle and for the release trigger to be reached after assembly. A clamp wedged against a wall can be difficult to release without disturbing the work.

Bar stiffness and work alignment go together

Both manufacturers describe an I-beam bar intended to limit flexing. DEWALT identifies heat-treated steel; IRWIN says its I-beam reduces flexing and bowing. A stiff bar helps the jaws remain aligned, but the clamp can still rack a loose assembly if the pads are not centered. Place the force through the joint, keep the bar clear of the finished face and check squareness before adhesive begins to set.

Inspect the bar for bends, burrs, rust and adhesive buildup. Dried glue can block jaw travel or scratch a project. Clean it with a method compatible with the clamp materials rather than grinding away the surface. If the jaw skips, the release sticks or the body is cracked, take the clamp out of service. Do not lengthen the handle or strike it to obtain more force.

DEWALT documents the more versatile jaw setup

DWHT83139 has a quick-change button that converts the removable jaw for spreading, plus removable jaw pads. That can help open a cabinet carcass slightly, position framing or protect work from the hard jaw face. The current IRWIN 1964717 product page does not state a spreader function or pad specification, even though other QUICK-GRIP models may have those features. Model-family assumptions are not reliable enough for a purchase claim.

Spreading creates outward load and needs the same restraint as clamping. Confirm the converted jaw is fully locked and that both contact points can withstand pressure. Never use either tool to jack, lift, brace a person, separate loaded structural members or hold something overhead. A woodworking spreader is not a rescue tool, vehicle jack or permanent support, regardless of its force rating.

One-handed operation helps positioning, not final judgment

Both are designed for one-handed use, allowing the free hand to align a board or hold a jig. The practical benefit is setup control, especially when the first clamp must keep pieces from sliding. Once the work is captured, stop and inspect all edges before increasing pressure. Glue acts as a lubricant, and an assembly that looked aligned while dry can creep as the trigger advances.

Release the clamp deliberately while supporting any part that could fall. IRWIN highlights its Quick-Release trigger; DEWALT also provides a one-handed trigger mechanism. Keep fingers out of the jaw path and do not let the bar swing toward a finished surface. Eye protection is sensible when clamping bent parts or springy material because stored energy can release suddenly.

Choose capacity or documented versatility

Choose DEWALT DWHT83139 for a published throat dimension, removable pads and documented spreader conversion. Choose IRWIN 1964717 when its up-to-300-pound sustained force and lifetime limited warranty fit the job. If neither exact geometry is confirmed for a tight setup, inspect one in person or obtain the missing dimension before ordering rather than assuming all six-inch clamps share a profile.

The verified Amazon identifiers are B006H8XAN8 for DEWALT and B001JT87RY for IRWIN. Confirm one clamp and the exact model because twin packs, lighter-duty versions and longer bars use separate listings. No holding-strength test, durability ranking, current price, stock or coupon is claimed. The comparison uses current manufacturer specifications and explicitly leaves undocumented details unknown.

Official sources and further reading

Sources reviewed on October 22, 2026. Prices, availability and terms can change; recheck before buying.

Commission disclaimer

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy or sign up through one of them, I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. That commission does not change the price you pay or the criteria used in this guide. Product details, prices, availability, and terms can change, so confirm the current information on the linked page before buying.